Quadra Reflections II: Where to swim

As they say, so often what you are looking for is in your own backyard.  Initially disappointed that there was no sand beach nearby, I drove out to see Open Beach which is quite fantastic, but involves a half hour drive and a steep hike downwards, then of course, upwards at the end of the stay!

On the general recommendation, I explored Rebecca Spit several times and discovered that near the boat launch was the best place to swim.  Despite the fact that the water warms up very nicely, there is a big drawback to swimming there: specifically, that the beach is made up of small stones and shells, therefore very hard on the feet.  I still haven’t figured out the lure to the Spit as there is no shade on the beach and not a speck of sand.  Also, although I am accustomed to rocky beaches and the need to wear some kind of beach shoe, my preference is for places where I can dispense of footwear before going into the water.

Tonight – and I should add it is one of the hottest days of the year, I decided to walk down to my very own beach, just 20 minutes away to test it out as I really did not want to get into the car.  What a lovely walk!  The road was so amply  shaded and pleasant.  A neighbour was selling gorgeous vegetables for just one dollar a bunch, and I picked up some stunning beets for my dinner on the way back.

But the piece de la resistance was the water itself.  Having been told that the water was too cold and the beach too rocky, I had avoided swimming there.  But much to my delightful surprise, the water was perfect – warm on the surface and cold enough below to be refreshing.  And I discovered that walking on the rocks barefoot was easier than negotiating shells and pebbles.

Describing the beauty of the sea there is fruitless, maybe.  The view of the coastal mountains, the stunning blue of the water, the fish jumping…  I left feeling refreshed and renewed. 

Now at the end of the day, when the tide is up, I will walk through my own neighbourhood to the beach and will swim in that vast ocean, appreciating the nearness, the beauty and the silkiness of the water.

Leave a Reply

